young man speaks his mind on the issue of gender roles. Also, skates sexily to Lady Gaga. Yow.
Skating:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qTaVkbl3Dp4
Speaking out about gender criticism:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6-MAmhGKsU
Just idle thoughts - androgynous men are so attractive.
Saturday, February 27, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
What a stud! Love this guy's attitude, glad he's willing to speak his mind. What is particularly worth noting, however, is the storm of ridiculous comments posted underneath the video on the Youtube site. One person who clearly is not a fan of gay people used the word "faget". Amazing.
ReplyDeleteYeah, I have had arguments with people who claim that Youtube makes the world look way more bigoted and horrible than it actually is, and others who have said it shows us the "true nature" - anonymity might mean that people who normally don't speak, express themselves excessively on public forums and to a greater proportion than those who might be the "norm" - more accepting attitudes. Or it might mean that people who would normally claim to be tolerant feel safe expressing their intolerance and that this is really how most people are.
ReplyDeleteBut yeah, I try hard to avoid reading youtube comments... they're... depressing at best.
This, of course, has a lot to do with Elliot and Hacking and the "semantic contagion" argument. Is intolerance semantically contagious? I think so. Youtube provides a format, an interpretive community, in which the more offensive you are the more you'll get recognized, and people will write more intolerant stuff. That doesn't mean, though, that they may not also come to believe it...
ReplyDeleteOn a similar note, esp. when it comes to gayness, I've found that even supposedly liberal and tolerant hetero. males often still make gay jokes in "straight" company...and though they think it's just ha-ha-no-i'm-not-serious, I've often wondered about the underlying contagion effect, and why it is such an "okay" territory for them, when other similar derogatory jokes wouldn't be. Okay, I guess I know why, because they want to prove they are not gay...but it still surprises me.
ReplyDeleteAs far as youtube goes, I kinda think a lot of people are bored and looking for a fight...